The Furry Forums would like to place cookies on your computer to help us make this website better. To find out more about the cookies, see our privacy notice.
To accept the cookie click here, or please login or register.

Author Topic: A lost art  (Read 483 times)

Offline Akula Filiko

• Eager Elephant
  • awards This user has been a forum member for over 10 years
  • What're you looking at?
    • My deviantArt
    • Awards
  • Species: Blacktip Reef Shark
  • Coloring: Gray
  • Height: 6 feet
  • Weight: 190
  • Build: Kinda muscular
A lost art
« on: March 07, 2011, 06:05:03 AM »
Lately I've been feeling like photography is a lost art. I've been doing photography for 7 years trying to become a better photographer, but recently I've noticed that people have been calling themselves artists just because they can take a black and white picture of a lamp post or a lawn chair. I learned how to develop my own photographs in a dark room and learned about all the shutter speeds and all the ups and downs of photography. Now people take a picture, use photoshop and make a photo that looks way better than I could ever hope to do. For example, my roommate got a professional grade camera with a telephoto lens and now uses Photoshop to make better photos than me. I feel like there's no heart in it anymore. 

Offline Ares the Ram

• Diamond in the rough
  • Zoomorphic Zebra
  • awards This user has been a forum member for over 10 years Top 50 Poster Top 10 Topic Starter Top 50 Most Online
    • Awards
Re: A lost art
« Reply #1 on: March 07, 2011, 06:21:38 AM »
you can be an artist with no talent whatsoever these days. You are what I call "true" artist. the ones who take the time and effort to learn about the skill. Its like those graphic design commercials. You dont have to be able to draw to make art for companys. >:(  *Pats Akula*

Offline Akula Filiko

• Eager Elephant
    • My deviantArt
    • Awards
« Reply #2 on: March 07, 2011, 06:34:11 AM »