The Furry Forums would like to place cookies on your computer to help us make this website better. To find out more about the cookies, see our privacy notice.
To accept the cookie click here, or please login or register.

Author Topic: Who Am I  (Read 1169 times)

Offline al-Kateb

• Vibrating Furby
  • awards This user has been a forum member for over 10 years
    • Awards
Who Am I
« on: March 02, 2009, 04:39:11 PM »
Who am I?

I am a young college student. An English major, to be specific. Originally, I was a Computer Information Security major with a specialization in Linux Administration. I decided to pursue Literature and language because it is my truest passion. My favorite genre of literature is Fantasy.

I am not a furry. I do not have a fursona. I have never been a furry. My experience with anthropomorphic animals (aside from cartoons as a child) has been limited to the Redwall series of books and Disney's Robin Hood and The Jungle Book (the first of which I greatly enjoy). On the other hand, I am obviously not a fur-hater (or whatever the term is), because I feel sympathy pangs for the Anthropomorphic Animal community. It is simply a sub-culture that is considered somewhat eccentric and not very-well understood. I have nothing against Furries for simply liking Anthropomorphic Animals.

In fact, I believe that American culture is very well steeped in Furry culture. Ever since we are children, we are bombarded by Furry material. We grow up watching anthropomorphic animals in our cartoons, whether they be serious cartoons (such as the not-well-known animated movie The Little Red Fox) or comedy (like Looney Tunes and Merrie Melodies). All throughout our childhood, we are very deeply immersed in Furryism. Children even pretend to be anthropomorphic animals; I know I did, when I was a child. To expect these people to simply abandon all of that rich heritage and culture is absurd. I do not believe that anyone can truly leave all of that behind.